Friday, August 19, 2011

My extremely long, but totally worth it rant...

Today I was thinking about social class and the "what if...'s" of it.

What if...
I had a cabin?
A boat?
Got my own car when I turned 16?
Got allowance?
Had a Mac and iPhone?
Never had to worry about where money was going to come from?
Had more than enough wiggle room, month to month?
I could go to the mall and not think, "If only I had money..."
I went on family vacations all over the U.S.?

Well, the answer to all of those questions is simple.

I wouldn't be ME. I wouldn't have had to deal with all the hard things I have. I wouldn't have known what it feels like to work for my money I get. I wouldn't have had the imagination to play rodeo with a jump rope or Starbucks with my shampoo and conditioner. I wouldn't have known how it felt to be grateful for the food on my plate, clothes on my back, roof over my head and family surrounding me. I wouldn't have made the friends I did, I wouldn't have created such great bonds over what I did. I wouldn't be so caring, because I learned from my pain, everyone needs that. I wouldn't have found God. I wouldn't have done anything I have today... I just, wouldn't be me.

I know, that sounds really shallow, attributing all of my personality, actions, etc. to my social standings... but think about it; what if you had a million dollars? Most people would say "give it to charity" but would you really? There are so many things people want in life, mostly materialistic items that'll just be obsolete in a matter of years. So why do we need them? To show off our social status. It all seems to come back to that. No one wants to be poor. But the fact of the matter is that a LOT of families are. 1/8 people rely on food banks. That means 7/8 people have money for food, or don't seek help from food banks, when they should. Society's kind of sickening, and I'm not saying I'm not a part of society, but I wish I wasn't. There is so much in this world that  should be done, NEEDS to be done... And there are so many FORTUNATE people, in this world. if everyone who had "extra money" gave up a penny a day, you know how much money we could raise? But, of course, if you ask anyone if they have "extra money" and they'll tell you no. Why can't we all just suck it up and help out a little?
Just saying.

xoxo,
Marjean.♥

No comments:

Post a Comment