Wednesday, August 31, 2011

What have romantic comedies done to me, now?!

So, recently, I've been getting a lot of grief about the way I've been acting. I guess I talk about boys, a lot. And I guess my taste in boys is quite bad, also. Or so my friends seem to think. You see, I have a tendancy to like boys that fit one or more of these criteria:
1. Complete jerks
2. Pervs
3. TAKEN
4. Completely unattractive
5. Immoral

Now, you see... this upsets my friends. Because, when I fall for a guy, I fall HARD. So, no matter how much my friends tell me he fits one (or more) of the above criteria, I don't listen. And then I end up waiting like a creepy stalker chick, for him to be my Prince Charming (Which we ALL know isn't likely). Now, you see, my friends finally, and all together (without realizing) told me that the guys I fall for are... well... see above. Now, this shouldn't bug me, should it? Well, it does. For a multitude of reasons. But I've come to the conclusion that there is only ONE reason that matters.

They're right. I've been trying so hard to find a guy that was going to be my Prince (This is what too many romantic comedies do to a person.... Please, don't try this at home) that I forgot about all the things that mattered to me. All the high standards (Well, maybe TOO high) I've set for myself and for what I want out of things. I've forgotten that who takes me to dances in high school, and who I spend maybe a month of my life with. It's not even about finding the "right" guy. MY life should be about school, drill, family, friends, and most of all God. Boys shouldn't be my main train of thought. I'm 14 for goodness sake! The only thing boys are good for at this age is sports and getting dumb girls pregnant. I mean, yes there are those exceptional guys. "I'm the exception! Not the rule." To He's Just Not That Into You. There's always going to be one or two guys that are "different". But they shouldn't have to TELL you that. And if something's right, it'll find YOU, right? So, I don't need to keep thinking and SEARCHING for something I don't NEED right now in my life. I've been blessed with what I already have... I think I can quit complaining now... (:



Oh, and on a side note; the post I made about orientation... well, to be quite frank, SUCKED.So here's the rundown. We "played" some icebreaker games, signed a gown, got a tee shirt, watched an anti-bullying video, and got our STILL tentative schedules. But ahh, the highlight of the day? A tiny itty bitty little Jesus moment, right when I needed it. You see, I was in the middle of freaking out, about high school, a guy (whom I don't really like because he treated me like dirt), and not having anyone to talk to in the moment. And then; BAM. A Jesus moment. This guy I know mutters "Everybody gets one" to his friend, and I freak. Everybody gets one, except Jesus, he gets three. It kind of made everything okay, in the moment. And to this I say: BOOM SHAKA LAKA!!!


All is well, again,
xoxo,
Marjean.♥

No comments:

Post a Comment